Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

the impossible & infinite encyclopedia of the world created by Schuiten & Peeters

User Tools

Site Tools


Main menu

Main menu

Browse dictionary

Browse in logical order:
Persons | Cities | Albums | More topics

Browse in chronological order:
Timeline | Obscure Timeline | New pages

Browse in alphabetical order:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ

Altaplana.be the offical site about François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters

Visit also

Visit Catalogue

Visit Office of Passages

Visit Atlantic 12

Visit Fonds Schuiten

Aquarica - the movie

The animated feature film Aquarica is a collaboration between Martin Villeneuve, writer, director and producer, and European comic book masters François Schuiten & Benoît Sokal 1). Martin Villeneuve started working on the script after making his feature film debut with Mars et Avril, upon which he collaborated with Schuiten 2).

Due to the death of Benoît Sokal in 2021, it is unknown if this part of the project will continue

Aquarica will be an animated fantasy feature film – Villeneuve will direct, while Schuiten & Sokal will act as production designers. The film will be produced by Pierre Even (Brooklyn, C.R.A.Z.Y.) at ITEM 7 in Canada, in co-production with Europe and/or Asia 3). It received development support from SODEC in 2013 and 2015, and from The Harold Greenberg Fund in 2016 4).

Producer Pierre Even explains that this will be the first animated movie for Item 7. “It’s a good project so we thought ‘why not?’ Let’s get into it and then we’ll find the way to do it. Very often it’s people like Martin [Villeneuve] who are so talented that we want to put our energies behind them.” 5)

Watch Once Upon A Time Martin Villeneuve, a 14-minute documentary produced in 2020 about filmmaker Martin Villeneuve, directed by Jean Benoit, featuring interviews with stage director Robert Lepage, illustrator François Schuiten and filmmaker Denis Villeneuve, in which we see Schuiten at work on Aquarica:


Aquarica metaphorically tackles the theme of climate change, through the prism of a beautiful love story and a quest full of unexpected twists and reveals. The story takes place in a parallel world in order to better expose and dramatize the paradoxes we face today: nature created us, nurtured us and we are part of it, yet we are altering its delicate equilibrium. In the world of this film, the boundaries between science and myth are blurred, stimulating the viewers’ imagination, questioning our relationship with nature, and pushing the limits of what we think is visually possible. Full of strange, otherworldly technologies, this fantastical, ultra-modern animated movie will deliver us into a thought-provoking and visually stunning narrative universe that will dazzle the imagination 6) 7).

Although Aquarica raises important questions and deals with matters of import in today’s society, it is first and foremost a deeply entertaining story, intended to appeal to a wide audience. It is indeed easy to grasp the stakes of this adventure and to identify with its endearing and deeply human characters. Furthermore, the outstanding artwork from Schuiten & Sokal and the astonishing inventiveness behind Martin Villeneuve’s first feature film, betoken a very exciting creative fusion 8) 9).

Due to his extremely tight budget, Martin invested seven years of his life and his crew worked for a fraction of their normal salary to bring Mars et Avril to the screen. It is a true miracle that he cannot possibly repeat a second time. However, Aquarica will surely benefit from all the lessons learned from this first feature – the tricks and techniques developed to reduce the budget while maximizing the end result. As with Mars et Avril, each shot of Aquarica will be carefully planned through an animatic of the whole film, leaving nothing to chance and putting creative and financial resources to full and efficient use 10) 11).

Director’s approach

In August 2016 The Cozy Sweater Café had an interview with filmmaker Martin Villeneuve 12). Among other projects, they talked about Aquarica:

What made you chose a girl to save the world in Aquarica?

“Because it would be a woman that would save the world. Femininity is life, renewal. The world would be a better place if there were more leaders with feminine traits like emotions and intuition. We men have other qualities, but tend to get stuck in our heads!”

Is it a comment on global warming?

“This movie is not a morality on how we should do things, it’s an acknowledgement of what’s going on, a fable about how these characters manage to make things right. How does losing one species affect us? Every time we lose something of value in the ecosystem, we are altering the equilibrium. This is our doom. We’re going down that path. Perhaps it’s our fate.”

How do we save ourselves?

“We have a lot of ways biologically to see things, but it gets discouraged by society. Kids understand that what we’re doing to the planet is clearly wrong, but as we grow up to work for a system that becomes part of our daily lives, we are blinded. We live in a capitalist society. If we did more meditation, focused on our dreams, and questioned what we want to do with our lives, we’d be happier. Most people aren’t happy because they haven’t asked that question at the right time in their life. We live with tremendous pressure and this leads to lack of creativity in our daily lives and in film. I want to make films we haven’t seen before, but it’s hard because as soon as you come up with an idea that people haven’t seen, they’re afraid, and they say it won’t work. The sequels are getting the money. The reason Quebec films and those made in countries like Belgium are so original is because no one expects them. We aren’t working for a factory. We are making indie films, sometimes they’re good, sometimes they aren’t, sometimes they’re weird, but they attract attention because they propose something new. They aren’t necessarily commercial, but they open the path for what is going to be commercial in 20 years. To make something new that has commercial appeal, you have to be right on time. Not too soon that people aren’t ready, and not too late that it’s been done before.”

Do you think we will save our planet?

“It’s tricky because the end of the world has been announced so many times. Perhaps climate change has to do with other things that we don’t really understand. All of this involves very complex parameters. It’s hard to say if we’re doomed, but the next 50-100 years will tell us. We lack connectivity, and a ‘big plan’ for humanity. We are trying to connect but if you look at societies like ants and bees, they all work together but we don’t have the ability. Perhaps we aren’t meant to stay here? Perhaps we are developing these abilities. When you show kids how to meditate, they have psychic abilities, they are able to plug into something bigger, and we don’t encourage these abilities. Most people will just laugh. We have a strong ability to bring new things into reality, to make a dream a reality. That is quite fascinating! We have that instinct, some people stronger than others. Steven Spielberg and James Cameron, for example, are probably very strong mediums, relying on their instinct. If they started to talk about it, people wouldn’t take them seriously. If we would encourage that in society, it would free us from many boundaries. I’m not afraid to talk about it. For me it’s part of our reality. Ninety percent of our reality is invisible and we are victim to not being able to see what is going on.”

See The Cozy Sweater Café for the full interview!

Fundings

Aquarica got development support from SODEC in 2013. A first draft of the script was then complete and the project was selected for the third edition of the Frontières Market. Born from the popularity of many other co-production markets around the world and the complete lack of events specifically dedicated to the genre film industry, Frontières became the first market to exclusively focus on genre film co-productions between North America and Europe. To participate in Frontières, the selected projects have to be market premieres with a completed script and must be applicable to an international co-production environment where there is ideally a Canadian production element involved (either in terms of production location, cast or crew, or post-production facilities). They need to have a producer or production company attached, although some exceptions have been made for exceptional talents looking to find a new producer. The third edition of Frontières was held in Brussels from April 10 to 12, 2014 during the Brussels International Fantastic Film Festival.

The artistic development of the film marks the new collaboration of the director with famous Belgian illustrator François Schuiten, this time joined by fellow comic-book artist Benoît Sokal. Benoît Charest (The Triplets of Belleville) is already attached as a composer. ITEM 7 is now seeking potential creative partners in Europe and/or Asia, pre-sales and any potential post-production deals involving tax rebates and development funding 13).

Aquarica

Progress

In May 2018, director Martin Villeneuve and producer Pierre Even visited Paris to meet with Benoît Sokal and François Schuiten to discuss the Aquarica movie. According to Villeneuve: “Aquarica: not yet in a cinema near you, but another step in the right direction!” 14).


In July 2018, Schuiten & Sokal met in Southern France to do some visual tests with the main characters.

In July 2018, Schuiten & Sokal met in Southern France to do some visual tests with the main characters.

In February 2019 Martin Villeneuve held a recording session with actor Vlasta Vrana, composer Ben Charest and animation director Theodore Ty for a test they conducted for Aquarica 15)


The workshop resulted in a 50 seconds animation test that that will be unveiled at the Cannes film market 16) from May 14 - 23, 2019.

See: The Crab: Prelude to Aquarica.

See also

Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

Encyclopédie impossible et infinie du monde créé par Schuiten & Peeters

Outils pour utilisateurs

Outils du site


Menu principal

Menu principal

Parcourir le dictionnaire

Parcourir par ordre logique:
Personnes | Cités | Albums | D'autres sujets

Parcourir par ordre chronologique :
Chronologie | Chronologie Obscure | Nouvelles pages

Parcourir par ordre alphabétique:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters

Visitez aussi

Visitez Catalogue

Visitez Office des Passages

Visitez Atlantic 12

Visit Fonds Schuiten

Aquarica - le film

Le long métrage d'animation Aquarica est une collaboration entre Martin Villeneuve, scénariste, réalisateur et producteur, et les maîtres de la bande dessinée européenne François Schuiten et Benoît Sokal. 1). Martin Villeneuve a commencé à travailler sur le scénario après avoir fait ses débuts dans le long métrage avec Mars et Avril , sur lequel il a collaboré avec Schuiten 2).

En raison du décès de Benoît Sokal en 2021, on ne sait pas si cette partie du projet sera poursuivie.

Aquarica sera un long métrage d'animation fantastique - Villeneuve le réalisera, tandis que Schuiten & Sokal agiront en tant que concepteurs de la production. Le film sera produit par Pierre Even (Brooklyn, C.R.A.Z.Y.) chez ITEM 7 au Canada, en coproduction avec l'Europe et/ou l'Asie 3). Il a reçu le soutien au développement de SODEC en 2013 et 2015, et du Harold Greenberg Fund en 2015. 2016 4).

Le producteur Pierre Even explique qu'il s'agira du premier film d'animation pour Item 7. “C'est un bon projet alors on s'est dit “pourquoi pas ?”. On s'y met et après on trouvera le moyen de le faire. Très souvent, ce sont des gens comme Martin [Villeneuve] qui sont si talentueux que nous voulons mettre notre énergie derrière eux.” 5)

Regardez Il était une fois Martin Villeneuve , un documentaire de 14 minutes produit en 2020 sur le cinéaste Martin Villeneuve, réalisé par Jean Benoit, comprenant des entretiens avec le metteur en scène Robert Lepage, l'illustrateur François Schuiten et le cinéaste Denis Villeneuve, dans lequel on voit Schuiten au travail sur Aquarica :


Aquarica aborde de manière métaphorique le thème du changement climatique, à travers le prisme d'une belle histoire d'amour et d'une quête pleine de rebondissements et de révélations inattendues. L'histoire se déroule dans un monde parallèle afin de mieux exposer et dramatiser les paradoxes auxquels nous sommes confrontés aujourd'hui : la nature nous a créés, elle nous a nourris et nous en faisons partie, mais nous altérons son équilibre délicat. Dans l'univers de ce film, les frontières entre la science et le mythe sont floues, ce qui stimule l'imagination des spectateurs, remet en question notre relation avec la nature et repousse les limites de ce que nous pensons être visuellement possible. Rempli de technologies étranges et d'un autre monde, ce film d'animation fantastique et ultramoderne nous transporte dans un univers narratif stimulant et visuellement époustouflant qui éblouit l'imagination 6) 7).

Bien que Aquarica soulève des questions importantes et traite de sujets majeurs dans la société d'aujourd'hui, il s'agit avant tout d'une histoire profondément divertissante, destinée à plaire à un large public. Il est en effet facile de saisir les enjeux de cette aventure et de s'identifier à ses personnages attachants et profondément humains. De plus, le travail artistique remarquable de Schuiten & Sokal et l'étonnante inventivité qui se cache derrière le premier long métrage de Martin Villeneuve sont le signe d'une fusion créative très excitante 8) 9).

En raison de son budget extrêmement serré, Martin a investi sept ans de sa vie et son équipe a travaillé pour une fraction de leur salaire habituel afin d'amener Mars et Avril à l'écran. C'est un véritable miracle qu'il ne peut pas répéter une seconde fois. Cependant, Aquarica bénéficiera sûrement de toutes les leçons tirées de ce premier long métrage - les astuces et techniques développées pour réduire le budget tout en maximisant le résultat final. Comme pour Mars et Avril , chaque plan de Aquarica sera soigneusement planifié à travers une animatique de l'ensemble du film, ne laissant rien au hasard et utilisant pleinement et efficacement les ressources créatives et financières 10) 11).

Approche du directeur

Dans août 2016 The Cozy Sweater Café a eu un entretien avec le cinéaste Martin Villeneuve 12). Entre autres projets, ils ont parlé de Aquarica :

Qu'est-ce qui vous a poussé à choisir une fille pour sauver le monde dans Aquarica ?

“Parce que ce serait une femme qui sauverait le monde. La féminité, c'est la vie, le renouveau. Le monde serait meilleur s'il y avait plus de leaders avec des traits féminins comme les émotions et l'intuition. Nous, les hommes, avons d'autres qualités, mais nous avons tendance à rester coincés dans nos têtes !”.

S'agit-il d'un commentaire sur le réchauffement climatique ?

“Ce film n'est pas une morale sur la façon dont nous devrions faire les choses, c'est une reconnaissance de ce qui se passe, une fable sur la façon dont ces personnages parviennent à arranger les choses. Comment la perte d'une espèce nous affecte-t-elle ? Chaque fois que nous perdons un élément de valeur dans l'écosystème, nous modifions l'équilibre. C'est notre perte. Nous nous engageons dans cette voie. C'est peut-être notre destin.”

Comment pouvons-nous nous sauver ?

“Nous avons beaucoup de façons biologiques de voir les choses, mais cela est découragé par la société. Les enfants comprennent que ce que nous faisons à la planète est clairement mauvais, mais en grandissant pour travailler pour un système qui fait partie de notre quotidien, nous sommes aveuglés. Nous vivons dans une société capitaliste. Si nous faisions plus de méditation, si nous nous concentrions sur nos rêves et si nous nous interrogions sur ce que nous voulons faire de nos vies, nous serions plus heureux. La plupart des gens ne sont pas heureux parce qu'ils n'ont pas posé cette question au bon moment dans leur vie. Nous vivons avec une pression énorme, ce qui entraîne un manque de créativité dans notre vie quotidienne et dans le cinéma. Je veux faire des films qu'on n'a jamais vus, mais c'est difficile parce que dès que vous avez une idée que les gens n'ont jamais vue, ils ont peur et disent que ça ne marchera pas. Ce sont les suites qui obtiennent l'argent. La raison pour laquelle les films québécois et ceux réalisés dans des pays comme la Belgique sont si originaux est que personne ne les attend. Nous ne travaillons pas pour une usine. Nous faisons des films indépendants, parfois ils sont bons, parfois ils ne le sont pas, parfois ils sont bizarres, mais ils attirent l'attention parce qu'ils proposent quelque chose de nouveau. Ils ne sont pas nécessairement commerciaux, mais ils ouvrent la voie à ce qui le sera dans 20 ans. Pour faire quelque chose de nouveau qui a un attrait commercial, vous devez être juste à temps. Ni trop tôt pour que les gens ne soient pas prêts, ni trop tard pour que cela ait déjà été fait.”

Pensez-vous que nous allons sauver notre planète ?

“C'est délicat car la fin du monde a été annoncée tellement de fois. Le changement climatique est peut-être lié à d'autres choses que nous ne comprenons pas vraiment. Tout cela implique des paramètres très complexes. Il est difficile de dire si nous sommes condamnés, mais les 50 à 100 prochaines années nous le diront. Nous manquons de connectivité et d'un “grand plan” pour l'humanité. Nous essayons de nous connecter, mais si vous regardez des sociétés comme les fourmis et les abeilles, elles travaillent toutes ensemble, mais nous n'en avons pas la capacité. Peut-être que nous ne sommes pas destinés à rester ici ? Peut-être que nous développons ces capacités. Quand vous montrez aux enfants comment méditer, ils ont des capacités psychiques, ils sont capables de se connecter à quelque chose de plus grand, et nous n'encourageons pas ces capacités. La plupart des gens vont juste rire. Nous avons une forte capacité à faire entrer de nouvelles choses dans la réalité, à faire d'un rêve une réalité. C'est assez fascinant ! Nous avons cet instinct, certaines personnes sont plus fortes que d'autres. Steven Spielberg et James Cameron, par exemple, sont probablement des médiums très forts, qui se fient à leur instinct. S'ils commençaient à en parler, les gens ne les prendraient pas au sérieux. Si nous encouragions cela dans la société, cela nous libérerait de nombreuses limites. Je n'ai pas peur d'en parler. Pour moi, cela fait partie de notre réalité. Quatre-vingt-dix pour cent de notre réalité est invisible et nous sommes victimes de ne pas pouvoir voir ce qui se passe.”

Voir The Cozy Sweater Café pour l'interview complète !

Financements

Aquarica a obtenu un soutien au développement de la SODEC en 2013. Une première version du scénario était alors achevée et le projet a été sélectionné pour la troisième édition du Frontières Marché. Né de la popularité de nombreux autres marchés de coproduction dans le monde et de l'absence totale d'événements spécifiquement dédiés à l'industrie du film de genre, Frontières est devenu le premier marché à se concentrer exclusivement sur les coproductions de films de genre entre l'Amérique du Nord et l'Europe. Pour participer à Frontières, les projets sélectionnés doivent être des premières sur le marché avec un scénario achevé et doivent s'appliquer à un environnement de coproduction internationale où il y a idéalement un élément de production canadien impliqué (que ce soit en termes de lieu de production, de distribution ou d'équipe, ou d'installations de post-production). Ils doivent être accompagnés d'un producteur ou d'une société de production, bien que certaines exceptions aient été faites pour des talents exceptionnels qui cherchent à trouver un nouveau producteur. La troisième édition de Frontières s'est tenue à Bruxelles du 10 au 12 avril 2014 dans le cadre du Brussels Festival international du film fantastique.

Le développement artistique du film marque la nouvelle collaboration du réalisateur avec le célèbre illustrateur belge François Schuiten, rejoint cette fois par son confrère de la bande dessinée Benoît Sokal. Benoît Charest (Les Triplettes de Belleville) est déjà engagé comme compositeur. ITEM 7 est maintenant à la recherche de partenaires créatifs potentiels en Europe et/ou en Asie, de préventes et de tout accord potentiel de post-production impliquant des réductions d'impôts et des fonds de développement 13).

Aquarica

Progrès

Dans mai 2018, le réalisateur Martin Villeneuve et le producteur Pierre Even se sont rendus à Paris pour rencontrer Benoît Sokal et François Schuiten afin de discuter du film Aquarica . Selon Villeneuve : “Aquarica : pas encore dans un cinéma près de chez vous, mais un pas de plus dans la bonne direction !”. 14).


Dans juillet 2018, Schuiten & Sokal se sont rencontrés dans le sud de la France pour faire des tests visuels avec les personnages principaux.

En juillet 2018, Schuiten & Sokal se sont rencontrés dans le sud de la France pour faire quelques tests visuels avec les personnages principaux.

En février 2019 Martin Villeneuve a organisé une session d'enregistrement avec l'acteur Vlasta Vrana, le compositeur Ben Charest et le directeur de l'animation Theodore Ty pour un test qu'ils ont réalisé pour Aquarica 15)


L'atelier a débouché sur un essai d'animation de 50 secondes qui sera dévoilé au marché du film de Cannes 16) de 14 au 23 mai 2019.

Voir : Le crabe : Prélude à Aquarica.

Voir aussi