Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

the impossible & infinite encyclopedia of the world created by Schuiten & Peeters

User Tools

Site Tools


Main menu

Main menu

Browse dictionary

Browse in logical order:
Persons | Cities | Albums | More topics

Browse in chronological order:
Timeline | Obscure Timeline | New pages

Browse in alphabetical order:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ


Altaplana.be the offical site about François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters

Visit also

Visit Catalogue

Visit Office of Passages

Visit Atlantic 12

About us

François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters in 2016 (photo: Luca Lomazzi / Voyez-Vous)

Welcome to Altaplana, the impossible and infinite encyclopedia of the world of The Obscure Cities, originally named Les Cités Obscures and its authors François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters.

François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters started to explore these cities in the early 1980s. In this fictional world, humans live in independent city-states, each of which has developed a distinct civilisation, each characterised by a distinctive architectural style.

François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters didn't only explore this universe by graphic novels, but also by the means of books, movies, exhibitions, scenographics & radio documentaries.

Les Cités Obscures

The word Obscure is somewhat misleading for English-speaking readers. In English we tend to think of the word to mean “little known” or “odd.” The French use the word for multiple meanings, including “mysterious”, “hidden” or even “secluded.” ALL of these adjectives could apply to the world imagined in the minds of Benoît Peeters and François Schuiten.

And although not all their work is officially related to the Obscure Cities, they all seem to fit somehow in the concept of their Les Cités Obscures.

On the Obscure Continent Altaplana is the city that is dedicated to hold all the archives of the Obscure Cities. Altaplana was founded in November 747 AT, after the Convention Von Amelunxen decided that all archives had to be centralized in one special place. Altaplana is located west of Urbicande and Alaxis, mid-way between the two in longitude.

The founding of Altaplana was not an immediately success. It took a long time to sort out if the documents have to be archived in alphabetical, chronological or logical order. Even after personal intervention of Governor Arkhalsky the chaos remained.

It was after a long time that Joseph Le Perdriel brought structure in the chaos by implementing a system that allowed documents to be archived in alphabetical, chronological and logical order, all at the same time. This system made it possible in 2011 to lift the embargo on information and open the Altaplana archives for everyone.

The archives at Altaplana contain about 3641 pages and are growing day by day. Enjoy the world of Les Cités Obscures!

Altaplana.be

The Altaplana website has been founded in 2011 by Joseph le Perdriel to create an archive about the world of Les Cités Obscures on the Internet.

Joseph le Perdriel worked before on the EBBS.net website, since 1996 dedicated to the work of François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters. He found out that information on the internet is not forever and that great information about Les Cités Obscures was vanishing.

Altaplana was created to incorporate EBBS.net and host all information that was still available. In May 2015 also the information of the official website Urbicande.be was incorporated, after this website was stopped.

Altaplana hosts now the most comprehensive dictionary of all topics related to the Obscure Cities and its authors François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters, based on the original dictionary that was made late 90's by Sylvain St.Pierre.

The Altaplana website is not an “official” website, but it could not have become what it is today without the support and help of François Schuiten, Benoît Peeters, the people at Casterman, organisers of events and the large group of dedicated fans of Les Cités Obscures.


More introduction

You can also read The Obscure Cities: An Introduction by Julian Darius, and the French story Le Devoir de transmission selon François Schuiten by Gilles Ratier, to get more background information about François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters. And although not all their work is officially related to the Obscure Cities, they all seem to fit somehow in the concept of their Les Cités Obscures.

Wiki

Altaplana is setup as a wiki. A wiki is a web application which allows people to add, modify, or delete content in a collaboration with others. Text is written using a simplified markup language or a rich-text editor. While a wiki is a type of content management system, it differs from a blog or most other such systems in that the content is created without any defined owner or leader, and wikis have little implicit structure, allowing structure to emerge according to the needs of the users.1). This gives the possibility to easily change and add pages to the dictionary. Altaplana is open for everybody who register on the website to add their own information to the dictionary. See also the help us! section to see where we can use your help.

Feedback

If you have a question or remark about Altaplana you can contact the archivist Joseph le Perdriel by the feedback form.

Help us

If you would like to help to maintain the dictionary let us know. You can check the community page to see what help is needed.

Content disclaimer

Yes, I have composed, I have beautified, I have combined certain facts, but never, never did I do damage to the truth!

L'Echo des Cités (page 54)

logo of altaplana

1)
See: wiki

Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

Encyclopédie impossible et infinie du monde créé par Schuiten & Peeters

Outils pour utilisateurs

Outils du site


Menu principal

Menu principal

Parcourir le dictionnaire

Parcourir par ordre logique:
Personnes | Cités | Albums | D'autres sujets

Parcourir par ordre chronologique :
Chronologie | Chronologie Obscure | Nouvelles pages

Parcourir par ordre alphabétique:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters

Visitez aussi

Visitez Catalogue

Visitez Office des Passages

Visitez Atlantic 12

Visit Fonds Schuiten

A propos de nous

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters en 2016 (photo : Luca Lomazzi / Voyez-Vous)

Bienvenue sur Altaplana, l'encyclopédie impossible et infinie du monde de Les Cités Obscures, initialement nommé Les Cités Obscures et ses auteurs François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters.

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters ont commencé à explorer ces villes au début des années 1980. Dans ce monde fictif, les humains vivent dans des cités-états indépendantes, dont chacune a développé une civilisation distincte, chacune caractérisée par un style architectural particulier.

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters n'ont pas seulement exploré cet univers par des romans graphiques, mais aussi par le biais de livres, de films, d'expositions, de scénographies et de documentaires radio.

Les Cités Obscures

Le mot Obscure est quelque peu trompeur pour les lecteurs anglophones. En anglais, nous avons tendance à penser que ce mot signifie “peu connu” ou “étrange”. Les Français utilisent ce mot pour de multiples significations, y compris “mystérieux”, “caché” ou même “isolé”. TOUS ces adjectifs pourraient s'appliquer au monde imaginé dans l'esprit de Benoît Peeters et François Schuiten.

Et bien que tous leurs travaux ne soient pas officiellement liés aux Cités Obscures, ils semblent tous s'intégrer d'une manière ou d'une autre dans le concept de leur Les Cités Obscures.

Sur le Continent Obscur Altaplana est la ville qui a pour vocation de conserver toutes les archives des Cités Obscures. Altaplana a été fondée en novembre 747 AT , après que les Convention Von Amelunxen aient décidé que toutes les archives devaient être centralisées dans un endroit spécial. Altaplana est située à l'ouest de Urbicande et Alaxis , à mi-chemin entre les deux en longitude.

La fondation d'Altaplana n'a pas été un succès immédiat. Il a fallu beaucoup de temps pour déterminer si les documents devaient être archivés par ordre alphabétique, chronologique ou logique. Même après l'intervention personnelle du gouverneur Arkhalsky, le chaos persistait.

C'est après un long moment que Joseph Le Perdriel a apporté une structure dans le chaos en mettant en place un système qui permettait d'archiver les documents par ordre alphabétique, chronologique et logique, tout à la fois. Ce système a permis en 2011 de lever l'embargo sur l'information et d'ouvrir les archives d'Altaplana à tous.

Les archives d'Altaplana contiennent environ type<ignore>=pages</ignore> pages et s'enrichissent de jour en jour. Profitez du monde de Les Cités Obscures!

Altaplana.be

Le site Altaplana a été fondé en 2011 par Joseph le Perdriel pour créer une archive sur le monde de Les Cités Obscures sur l'Internet. Internet.

Joseph le Perdriel a travaillé auparavant sur le site EBBS.net, depuis 1996 consacré à l'œuvre de François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters. Il s'est rendu compte que les informations sur Internet ne sont pas éternelles et que les grandes informations concernant Les Cités Obscures étaient en train de disparaître.

Altaplana a été créé pour intégrer EBBS.net et héberger toutes les informations qui étaient encore disponibles. En Mai 2015 également les informations du site officiel Urbicande.be a été incorporé, après que ce site ait été arrêté.

Altaplana héberge maintenant le dictionnaire le plus complet de tous les sujets liés aux Cités Obscures et à ses auteurs. François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters, basé sur le dictionnaire original qui a été fait à la fin des années 90 par Sylvain St.Pierre.

Le site Altaplana n'est pas un site “officiel”, mais il n'aurait pas pu devenir ce qu'il est aujourd'hui sans le soutien et l'aide de François Schuiten, Benoît Peeters, les gens de Casterman, les organisateurs d'événements et le grand groupe de fans dévoués des Cités Obscures.

Plus d'introduction

Vous pouvez également lire The Obscure Cities: An Introduction par Julian Darius, et l'article en français Le Devoir de transmission selon François Schuiten de Gilles Ratier, pour obtenir plus d'informations de fond sur François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters. Et bien que tous leurs travaux ne soient pas officiellement liés aux Cités Obscures, ils semblent tous s'inscrire d'une manière ou d'une autre dans le concept de leur Les Cités Obscures.

Wiki

Altaplana est configuré comme un wiki. Un wiki est une application Web qui permet aux gens d'ajouter, de modifier ou de supprimer du contenu dans le cadre d'une collaboration avec d'autres personnes. Le texte est écrit à l'aide d'un langage de balisage simplifié ou d'un éditeur de texte riche. Bien qu'un wiki soit un type de système de gestion de contenu, il diffère d'un blog ou de la plupart des autres systèmes de ce type en ce sens que le contenu est créé sans propriétaire ou responsable défini, et que les wikis ont peu de structure implicite, ce qui permet à la structure d'émerger en fonction des besoins des utilisateurs.1). Cela donne la possibilité de modifier et d'ajouter facilement des pages au dictionnaire. Altaplana est ouvert à tous ceux qui s'inscrivent sur le site pour ajouter leurs propres informations au dictionnaire. Consultez également la section “Aidez-nous !” pour savoir où nous pouvons utiliser votre aide.

réactions au sujet de

Si vous avez une question ou une remarque sur Altaplana, vous pouvez contacter l'archiviste Joseph le Perdriel par le biais du le formulaire de feedback.

Aidez-nous

Si vous souhaitez contribuer à la maintenance du dictionnaire, faites-le nous savoir. Vous pouvez consulter la page de la communauté pour voir quelle aide est nécessaire.

Avis de non-responsabilité concernant le contenu

Oui, j'ai composé, j'ai embelli, j'ai combiné certains faits, mais jamais, jamais je n'ai porté atteinte à la vérité !

L'Echo des Cités (page 54)

logo de l'altaplana

1)
Voir : wiki