Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

Encyclopédie impossible et infinie du monde créé par Schuiten & Peeters

Outils pour utilisateurs

Outils du site


Menu principal

Menu principal

Parcourir le dictionnaire

Parcourir par ordre logique:
Personnes | Cités | Albums | D'autres sujets

Parcourir par ordre chronologique :
Chronologie | Chronologie Obscure | Nouvelles pages

Parcourir par ordre alphabétique:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters

Visitez aussi

Visitez Catalogue

Visitez Office des Passages

Visitez Atlantic 12

Visit Fonds Schuiten

Comic-Con International 2014

Logo du Comic-Con International San Diego Comic-Con International est une convention multigenre de divertissement et de bande dessinée qui se tient chaque année à San Diego, en Californie. Elle a été fondée sous le nom de Golden State Comic Book Convention en 1970 par un groupe de San Diegoiens, dont Shel Dorf, Richard Alf, Ken Krueger et Mike Towry ; plus tard, elle a été appelée “San Diego Comic Book Convention”. Le nom, tel qu'il figure sur son site Web, est Comic-Con International : San Diego ; mais il est communément appelé Comic-Con ou Comic-Con de San Diego ou “'SDCC”. 1)

À l'origine, la convention présentait principalement des bandes dessinées et des films, des émissions de télévision et des arts populaires similaires liés à la science-fiction et à la fantasy, mais elle inclut aujourd'hui un éventail plus large d'éléments de culture pop et de divertissement dans pratiquement tous les genres, notamment l'horreur, l'animation, les anime, les mangas, les jouets, les jeux de cartes à collectionner, les jeux vidéo, les webcomics et les romans fantastiques.

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters à San Diego Comic Con 2014

Selon Forbes, cette convention est la “plus grande convention de ce type au monde” ; c'est aussi la plus grande convention organisée à San Diego. 2)

François Schuiten et son éditeur américain Steve Smith

Comic-Con International présente l'une des listes d'invités les plus diversifiées de toutes les conventions. La première vague d'invités de 2014 comprenait des créateurs de bandes dessinées grand public et alternatives, de romans graphiques, de bandes dessinées, d'animations et de livres de science-fiction et de fantasy. François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters faisaient partie des 20 premiers invités spéciaux 3).

Comic-Con International San Diego est revenu au San Diego Convention Center en 2014. 2014, en commençant par une soirée d'avant-première le mercredi 23 juillet, les quatre jours de l'événement se déroulant du jeudi 24 juillet au dimanche 27 juillet. L'année 2014 marque la 45e année du salon, ce qui en fait la plus longue convention de bandes dessinées et d'arts populaires en continu du pays.

Schuiten & Peeters au ComicCon 2014

Schuiten et Peeters ont eu deux séances d'autographes officielles de la convention, le vendredi 25 juillet, de 12h30 à 13h30 en AA19, et le samedi 26 juillet, de 16h30 à 17h30, également en AA19.

Benoît Peeters et son éditeur américain Steve Smith

Un panel de deux heures a eu lieu en tant que “Spotlight on Benoît Peeters” le samedi 26 juillet, de 2-3pm suivi immédiatement par le “Spotlight on François Schuiten” de 3-4pm. Tous deux se sont déroulés dans la salle 4. Steve Smith a animé les deux discussions, partageant avec le public des extraits de films et des images de leurs carrières. De plus, Benoît, François et Steve Smith ont consacré une partie du temps de présentation à discuter des Cités Obscures et de l'avenir de la série en éditions en langue anglaise 4).

En outre, Benoît et François ont été accueillis par Alaxis Press à leur stand (n° 4401) le jeudi pendant une heure pour signer et rencontrer les fans. Benoît et François ont également été invités à remettre le prix Eisner pour les meilleures bandes dessinées étrangères lors de la cérémonie de remise des prix qui s'est tenue pendant la convention 5).

Schuiten & Peeters en route pour San Diego

Quelques images de François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters dans l'avion pour San Diego. Dans l'avion ils ont rencontré l'artiste britannique Dave McKean et ils ont travaillé sur les idées préliminaires de l'exposition Revoir Paris plus tard. exposition Revoir Paris plus tard cette année.

Jour 1 : 24 juillet 2014

Une impression photo de la première journée au Comic-Con par Benoît Peeters (et quelques photos de François Schuiten).

Deuxième jour : 25 juillet 2014

Une impression du Comic-Con pendant le deuxième jour par Benoît Peeters.

Séance d'autographes

Pendant le deuxième jour il y avait une session d'autographes officielle pour Schuiten et Peeters. Deb Aoki et Steve Smith ont pris les photos suivantes de cette session.

Prix Eisner

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters présentant les prix Eisner au Comic Con 2014.

Les Eisner Awards, considérés comme les “Oscars” de l'industrie de la bande dessinée, ont été décernés dans 30 catégories 6). François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters présentaient les Eisner awards pour la meilleure édition américaine de matériel international, la meilleure édition américaine de matériel international-Asie et la meilleure adaptation d'un autre média.

Le prix Eisner de la meilleure édition américaine de matériel international a été remporté par Jacques Tardi & Jean-Pierre Verney pour “Goddamn This War !”. Le prix de la meilleure édition américaine de matériel international - Asie a été remporté par Osamau Tezuka pour “The Mysterious Underground men”. Le prix de la meilleure adaptation d'un autre support a été remporté par Darwyn Cooke pour “Richard Stark's Parker” : Slayground, de Donald Westlake“ 7).

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters présentant les Eisner Awards lors du Comic Con 2014.

Image par Hannah Means Shannon. Quelques images supplémentaires des coulisses par Benoît Peeters :

Troisième jour : 26 juillet 2014

Le troisième jour du Comic-Con de San Diego, une table ronde de deux heures était prévue. Ensuite, il y avait la deuxième séance officielle d'autographes. Schuiten et Peeters ont également rencontré de nombreuses personnes comme des illustrateurs talentueux et Mme Sachie Fujita du magazine japonais Ultra Jump. La soirée s'est terminée par un dîner avec Steve Smith.

Une impression du troisième jour par Benoît Peeters :

Panel du Comic-Con

Au cours de la troisième journée, il y a eu un panel de deux heures avec Schuiten et Peeters. La discussion était modérée par Steve Smith. L'événement a été suivi par plus de 50 fans et a commencé par la remise à Benoît Peeters de l'Inkpot Award pour l'ensemble de son œuvre dans le domaine de la bande dessinée.

Panel Comic-Con avec François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters

Image par Karen Green. Images supplémentaires par Howard SD.

Prix Inkpot

Benoît Peeters a reçu l'Inkpot Award for Achievement in Comic Arts. L'Inkpot Award est un prix décerné chaque année depuis 1974 par le Comic-Con International. Il est décerné à des professionnels de la bande dessinée, de l'animation, de la science-fiction et des domaines connexes de la pop-culture 8). François l'a reçu il y a 18 ans, lors de sa visite au Comic-Con en 1996 9).

Prix Inkpot San Diego Comic-Con pour Benoît Peeters

Quatrième jour : 27 juillet 2014

Le dernier jour de Schuiten et Peeters à San Diego a été une journée de détente sur l'île de Coronado.

Alaxis Press au ComicCon 2014

Alaxis Press est l'éditeur des nouvelles traductions anglaises des albums des Cités Obscures. Ils avaient le stand SDCC #4401, très proche de l'entrée principale F. L'éditeur Steve Smith partage le stand à double endcap avec son ami de longue date et partenaire commercial, Dave Dorman.

Il y a eu plusieurs séances d'autographes sur le stand d'Alaxis Press. Photos de Steve Smith et Kelly Kilmer.

Peeters et Schuiten dans le stand d'Alaxis Press.

Pour ceux qui ont visité le stand d'Alaxis Press, un nouveau marque-page en édition limitée a été réalisé.

Marque-page en édition limitée pour Comic Con

Liens

Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

the impossible & infinite encyclopedia of the world created by Schuiten & Peeters

User Tools

Site Tools


Sidebar

Main menu

Browse dictionary

Browse in logical order:
Persons | Cities | Albums | More...

Browse in chronological order:
Timeline | Obscure Timeline | New pages

Browse in alphabetical order:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ


Visit also

Visit Catalogue

Visit Office of Passages

Visit Atlantic 12


Follow us!

Visit altaplana on Facebook Visit altaplana on twitter


Comic-Con International 2014

Comic-Con International logo San Diego Comic-Con International is a multigenre entertainment and comic convention held annually in San Diego, California. It was founded as the Golden State Comic Book Convention in 1970 by a group of San Diegans, which included Shel Dorf, Richard Alf, Ken Krueger and Mike Towry; later, it was called the “San Diego Comic Book Convention”. The name, as given on its website, is Comic-Con International: San Diego; but it is commonly known simply as Comic-Con or the San Diego Comic-Con or “'SDCC”. 1)

Originally showcasing primarily comic books and science fiction/fantasy related film, television, and similar popular arts, the convention now includes a larger range of pop culture and entertainment elements across virtually all genres, including horror, animation, anime, manga, toys, collectible card games, video games, webcomics, and fantasy novels.

François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters at San Diego Comic Con 2014

According to Forbes, the convention is the “largest convention of its kind in the world”; it is also the largest convention held in San Diego. 2)

François Schuiten and his US publisher Steve Smith

Comic-Con International features one of the most diverse guest lists of any convention. The first wave of guests for 2014 included creators from mainstream and alternative comics, graphic novels, comic strips, animation, and science fiction and fantasy books. François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters were among the first 20 special guests 3).

Comic-Con International San Diego returned to the San Diego Convention Center in 2014, beginning with Preview Night on Wednesday, July 23, with the four days of the event running Thursday, July 24 through Sunday, July 27. 2014 marks the 45th year for the show, making it the country’s longest continuously-run comics and popular arts convention.

Schuiten & Peeters at ComicCon 2014

Schuiten and Peeters had two official convention autograph sessions on Friday, July 25, from 12:30pm - 1:30pm in AA19, and on Saturday, July 26, from 4:30pm - 5:30pm, also in AA19.

Benoît Peeters and his US publisher Steve Smith

A two hour panel was held as the “Spotlight on Benoît Peeters” on Saturday, July 26th, from 2-3pm followed immediately by the “Spotlight on François Schuiten” from 3-4pm. Both in Room 4. Steve Smith moderated both discussions, sharing with the audience film clips and images from their careers. In addition, Benoît, François and Steve Smith spent part of the presentation time discussing The Obscure Cities and the future of the series in English language editions 4).

In addition, Alaxis Press had Benoît and François in their booth, #4401 on Thursday for an hour to sign and meet fans. Also, Benoît and François have been asked to present the Eisner Award for best foreign comics at the Awards ceremony held during the convention 5).

Schuiten & Peeters on route to San Diego

Some images of François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters in the plane to San Diego. In the plane they met British artist Dave McKean and they worked on the draft ideas of the exhibition Revoir Paris later this year.

Day 1: July 24, 2014

A photo impression of the first day at Comic-Con by Benoît Peeters (and some photos by François Schuiten).

Day 2: July 25, 2014

An impression of Comic-Con during day 2 by Benoît Peeters.

Autograph session

During the second day there was an official autograph session for Schuiten and Peeters. Deb Aoki and Steve Smith took the following pictures of this session.

Eisner awards

François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters presenting the Eisner Awards at Comic Con 2014

The Eisner Awards, considered the “Oscars” of the comic book industry, has been given out in 30 categories 6). François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters were presenting the Eisner awards for Best U.S. Edition of International Material, Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia & Best Adaptation from Another Medium.

The Eisner award for Best U.S. Edition of International Material was won by Jacques Tardi & Jean-Pierre Verney for “Goddamn This War!”. The award for Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia was won by Osamau Tezuka for “The Mysterious Underground men”. The Best Adaptation from Another Medium award was won by Darwyn Cooke for “Richard Stark’s Parker: Slayground, by Donald Westlake” 7).

François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters presenting the Eisner Awards at Comic Con 2014

Image by Hannah Means Shannon. Some additional backstage images by Benoît Peeters:

Day 3: July 26, 2014

On the third day of the San Diego Comic-Con a two hour panel discussion was planned. Afterwards there was the second official autograph session. Schuiten and Peeters also met many people like some talented illustrators and Mrs Sachie Fujita from the Japanse magazine Ultra Jump. The evening ended with a diner with Steve Smith.

An impression of Day 3 by Benoît Peeters:

Comic-Con panel

During the third day there was also a two hour panel with Schuiten and Peeters. The discussion was moderated by Steve Smith. The event was attended by over 50 fans and began with Benoît Peeters being awarded the Inkpot Award for lifetime achievement in Comics for his writing.

Comic-Con Panel with François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters

Image by Karen Green. Additional images by Howard SD.

Inkpot award

Benoît Peeters received the The inkpot Award for Achievement in Comic Arts. The Inkpot Award is an honor bestowed annually since 1974 by Comic-Con International. It is given to professionals in the fields of comic books, comic strips, animation, science fiction, and related areas of pop-culture 8). François received it 18 years ago, when he visited Comic-Con in 1996 9).

San Diego Comic-Con Inkpot award for Benoît Peeters

Day 4: July 27, 2014

The last day of Schuiten and Peeters in San Diego was a relaxing day on the Coronado Island.

Alaxis Press at ComicCon 2014

Alaxis Press is the publisher of the new English translations of the Obscure Cities albums. They had SDCC booth #4401, very close to main entrance F. Publisher Steve Smith is sharing the double endcap booth with his longtime friend and business partner, Dave Dorman.

There were several autograph sessions in the booth of Alaxis Press. Pictures by Steve Smith and Kelly Kilmer.

Peeters and Schuiten in the booth of Alaxis Press

For those who visited the booth of Alaxis Press a new limited edition bookmark was made.

Limited edition bookmark for Comic Con