Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

the impossible & infinite encyclopedia of the world created by Schuiten & Peeters

User Tools

Site Tools

Eisner awards 2015 nominations!

On April 22, 2015 the nominations for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2015 were announced for the awards ceremony that will take place on July 10th during San Diego Comic-Con International. The nominees, chosen by a blue-ribbon panel of judges, highlight the wide range of material being published in comics and graphic novel form today, from companies big and small, in print and on-line 1).

Photo by Johnakin Randolph © SDCC

The English translation of L'Enfant Penchée: The Leaning Girl by Alaxis Press is nominated in the category Best U.S. Edition of International Material. Also François Schuiten is nominated in the category Best Penciller/Inker 2).

Named for acclaimed comics creator the Will Eisner, the awards are celebrating their 27th year of highlighting the best publications and creators in comics and graphic novels. This year the awards will be celebrating the 75th anniversary of Eisner’s classic character, The Spirit. The 2015 Eisner Awards judging panel consists of comics retailer Carr DeAngelo (Earth-2 Comics, Los Angeles, CA), librarian/educator Richard Graham (University of Nebraska–Lincoln), Eisner Award–winning author Sean Howe (Marvel Comics: The Untold Story), educator/author Susan Kirtley (Portland State University), Comic-Con International committee member Ron McFee, and writer/editor Maggie Thompson (Comic-Con’s Toucan blog, Diamond’s Scoop newsletter).

Best U.S. Edition of International Material

  • Beautiful Darkness, by Fabien Vehlmann & Kerascoët (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Blacksad: Amarillo, by Juan Díaz Canales & Juanjo Guarnido (Dark Horse)
  • Corto Maltese: Under the Sign of Capricorn, by Hugo Pratt (IDW/Euro Comics)
  • Jaybird, by Lauri & Jaakko Ahonen (Dark Horse/SAF)
  • The Leaning Girl, by Benoît Peeters & François Schuiten (Alaxis Press)

Best Penciller/Inker

  • Adrian Alphona, Ms. Marvel (Marvel)
  • Mike Allred, Silver Surfer (Marvel); Madman in Your Face 3D Special (Image)
  • Frank Quitely, Multiversity (DC)
  • François Schuiten, The Leaning Girl (Alaxis Press)
  • Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)
  • Babs Tarr, Batgirl (DC)