Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

the impossible & infinite encyclopedia of the world created by Schuiten & Peeters

User Tools

Site Tools


Amiens Cathedral

The Cathedral Basilica of Our Lady of Amiens or simply Amiens Cathedral, is a Roman Catholic church. The cathedral is the seat of the Bishop of Amiens. It is situated on a slight ridge overlooking the River Somme in Amiens, the administrative capital of the Picardy region of France, some 120 kilometres (75 miles) north of Paris 1).

The cathedral was built almost entirely between 1220 and c. 1270, a remarkably short period of time for a Gothic cathedral, giving it an unusual unity of style. Amiens is a classic example of the High Gothic style of Gothic architecture. It also has some features of the later Rayonnant style in the enlarged high windows of the choir, added in the mid-1250s. 2)

Its builders were trying to maximize the internal dimensions in order to reach for the heavens and bring in more light. As a result, Amiens cathedral is the largest in France, 200,000 cubic metres (260,000 cu yd), large enough to contain two cathedrals the size of Notre Dame of Paris.3)

The cathedral has been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1981. Although it has lost much of its original stained glass, Amiens Cathedral is renowned for the quality and quantity of early 13th-century Gothic sculpture in the main west façade and the south transept portal, and a large quantity of polychrome sculpture from later periods inside the building.

Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

Encyclopédie impossible et infinie du monde créé par Schuiten & Peeters

Outils pour utilisateurs

Outils du site


Menu principal

Menu principal

Parcourir le dictionnaire

Parcourir par ordre logique:
Personnes | Cités | Albums | D'autres sujets

Parcourir par ordre chronologique :
Chronologie | Chronologie Obscure | Nouvelles pages

Parcourir par ordre alphabétique:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters

Visitez aussi

Visitez Catalogue

Visitez Office des Passages

Visitez Atlantic 12

Visit Fonds Schuiten

Cathédrale d'Amiens

La basilique-cathédrale Notre-Dame d'Amiens ou simplement la cathédrale d'Amiens, est une église catholique romaine. La cathédrale est le siège de l'évêque d'Amiens. Elle est située sur une légère crête surplombant le fleuve Somme à Amiens, la capitale administrative de la région Picardie en France, à environ 120 kilomètres (75 miles) au nord de Paris 1).

La cathédrale a été presque entièrement construite entre 1220 et c.1270, une période remarquablement courte pour une cathédrale gothique, ce qui lui confère une unité de style inhabituelle. Amiens est un exemple classique du style gothique supérieur de l'architecture gothique. Elle présente également certaines caractéristiques du style Rayonnant plus tardif dans les fenêtres hautes agrandies du chœur, ajoutées au milieu des années 1250. (Voir : Amiens_Cathedral ))

Ses bâtisseurs cherchaient à maximiser les dimensions internes afin d'atteindre les cieux et de faire entrer plus de lumière. En conséquence, la cathédrale d'Amiens est la plus grande de France, avec 200 000 mètres cubes (260 000 yards cubes), suffisamment grande pour contenir deux cathédrales de la taille de Notre Dame de Paris. 2)

La cathédrale est inscrite sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO depuis 1981. Bien qu'elle ait perdu une grande partie de ses vitraux d'origine, la cathédrale d'Amiens est réputée pour la qualité et la quantité de sculptures gothiques du début du XIIIe siècle sur la façade principale ouest et le portail du transept sud, ainsi que pour une grande quantité de sculptures polychromes des périodes ultérieures à l'intérieur du bâtiment.