Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

the impossible & infinite encyclopedia of the world created by Schuiten & Peeters

User Tools

Site Tools


Main menu

Main menu

Browse dictionary

Browse in logical order:
Persons | Cities | Albums | More topics

Browse in chronological order:
Timeline | Obscure Timeline | New pages

Browse in alphabetical order:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ


Altaplana.be the offical site about François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters

Visit also

Visit Catalogue

Visit Office of Passages

Visit Atlantic 12

Manila 2019-2050: City of the Future Comics Contest

The “Manila 2019-2050: City of the Future” is a series of events organized throughout 2019 by the Embassy of France to the Philippines. It intends to bring together French and Filipino experiences and expertise in sustainable and livable urban development, and focuses on a vision of what Metro Manila can potentially become by 2050: a region of sustainability, a center of economic and technological progress, and more importantly, a home for its inhabitants 1).

Drawing a city, and telling a story about a city, gives you possibilities to imagine things without having a huge responsibility. When you are an architect or urban planner, [your vision] becomes reality, so you have a huge responsibility,” Benoît Peeters said 2).

As part of this initiative, the “Manila 2019-2050: City of the Future Comics Contest” was launched in collaboration with Peeters and Komiket, which invited professional and amateur artists to submit original comics strips illustrating their vision of Manila around 30 years into the future 3).

A jury led by Benoît Peeters, the French Embassy, and Komiket selected a grand prize winner from the professional category who received an all-expenses paid trip to France to attend the Angoulême International Comics Festival, one of the world’s biggest and most prestigious events dedicated to comics.

Benoît Peeters in Manila. Photo by: Maria Gianina Tomas 4)

The works of 20 finalists from the professional and student categories were exhibited at the 6th floor gallery of the De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde’s School of Design and Arts on Nov. 26 2019 5).

Exhibit

In addition to awarding Filipino comics creators, Benoît Peeters inaugurated “From Obscure Cities to Futuristic Cities”, an exhibit based on the award-winning French comics series he co-created with François Schuiten. A portrayal of a post-futuristic era where the fabrics of society and time strata intertwine, the series “Les Cités Obscures” (“Obscure Cities”) won the Manga Grand Prize at the 16th Japan Media Arts Festival in 2012.

Manila 2019-2050: City of the Future Comics Contest

What would the city of Manila look like in the future? Some envision the sprawling city and its high-rise buildings to be half-submerged in water, due to flooding. Others imagine Manila to be a clean and sustainable city that upheld its heritage and preserved its unique culture. A few others believed that the fate of Manila was grim. The city in 2050 would face the same problems as it faced in the year 2019. Most of them were related to transportation in the country 6).

These ideas are just a few of what several Filipino comics creators and artists showcased on Tuesday evening, during the Manila 2019-2050: City of the Future Comics Contest at the CSB School of Design and Arts.

Benoît Peeters visited the School of Design & Arts of the De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde to award the winners of the Manila 2019-2050: City of the Future Comics Contest.


Benoît Peeters, writer of the award-winning comics series “Les Cités Obscures” with artist François Schuiten, explains the relationship between comics and cities 7).


Isabella Hilario of De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde wins the student category of the Manila 2019-2050: City of the Future Comics Contest for her work entitled “For the Future”.

Rod Espinosa became the grand prize winner for his masterful & meaningful vision of Manila 2019-2050 entitled “Broken But Still Beautiful”.

Espinosa will be going on an all-expense paid trip to France to attend the prestigious Angoulême International Comics Fest.

In an interview with GMA News Online, Espinosa shared that his inspiration for his winning entry was the sea level rise that would affect the city in the coming years.

And having watched movies like Water World…I thought it would be interesting to see Manila underwater but….nature came back…as you can see, it's now sustainable [with] vertical farming in all the buildings. That's the inspiration,” the veteran comic book artist said 8).

It was a great pleasure to discover the city through the eyes of artists. Comics and cities fit real together. I think comics are very appropriate to this way of telling a story [of] how do people feel,” Peeters said 9).

According to him, choosing the winners was tough because they were high-quality works with unique perspectives and a personal element 10).

All the professional artists participating in the Manila 2019-2050: City of the Future Comics Contest together with Benoit Peeters, French Embassy Cultural Attaché Martin Macalintal, and The Filipino Komiks & Art Market co-founder Paolo Herras

Photos and video by the Embassy of France in the Philippines and Micronesia 11) 12) 13) 14) 15), Patma I 16) and Angelica Y. Yang 17) 18) 19) 20) .

This website uses cookies for visitor traffic analysis. By using the website, you agree with storing the cookies on your computer. More information

Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

Encyclopédie impossible et infinie du monde créé par Schuiten & Peeters

Outils pour utilisateurs

Outils du site


Menu principal

Menu principal

Parcourir le dictionnaire

Parcourir par ordre logique:
Personnes | Cités | Albums | D'autres sujets

Parcourir par ordre chronologique :
Chronologie | Chronologie Obscure | Nouvelles pages

Parcourir par ordre alphabétique:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters

Visitez aussi

Visitez Catalogue

Visitez Office des Passages

Visitez Atlantic 12

Visit Fonds Schuiten

Manille 2019-2050 : Concours de bande dessinée "Ville du futur

Le concours “Manille 2019-2050 : Ville du Futur” est une série d'événements organisés tout au long de l'année 2019 par l'Ambassade de France aux Philippines. Elle entend réunir les expériences et l'expertise françaises et philippines en matière de développement urbain durable et vivable, et se concentre sur une vision de ce que Metro Manila peut potentiellement devenir à l'horizon 2050: une région durable, un centre de progrès économique et technologique, et surtout, un foyer pour ses habitants 1).

Dessiner une ville, et raconter une histoire sur une ville, vous donne la possibilité d'imaginer des choses sans avoir une énorme responsabilité. Lorsque vous êtes architecte ou urbaniste, [votre vision] devient réalité, vous avez donc une énorme responsabilité,” a déclaré Benoît Peeters 2).

Dans le cadre de cette initiative, le concours “Manille 2019-2050 : City of the Future Comics Contest” a été lancé en collaboration avec Peeters et Komiket, qui invitait les artistes professionnels et amateurs à soumettre des bandes dessinées originales illustrant leur vision de Manille dans une trentaine d'années 3).

Un jury dirigé par Benoît Peeters, l'ambassade de France et Komiket a sélectionné le grand gagnant de la catégorie professionnelle qui a reçu un voyage tous frais payés en France pour assister au Festival international de la bande dessinée d'Angoulême, l'un des événements les plus importants et les plus prestigieux du monde consacré à la bande dessinée.

Benoît Peeters à Manille. Photo : Maria Gianina Tomas 4)

Les œuvres de 20 finalistes des catégories professionnelle et étudiante ont été exposées à la galerie du 6e étage de l'école de design et d'arts de De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, le 26 nov. 2019 5).

Exposition

En plus de récompenser les créateurs de bandes dessinées philippins, Benoît Peeters a inauguré “From Obscure Cities to Futuristic Cities”, une exposition basée sur la série de bandes dessinées française primée qu'il a co-créée avec François Schuiten. Portrait d'une époque post-futuriste où les tissus de la société et les strates temporelles s'entremêlent, la série “Les Cités Obscures” a remporté le Grand Prix du Manga lors de l'exposition “Les Cités Obscures”. Grand Prix du Manga au 16ème Festival des Arts Médiatiques du Japon en 2012.

Manille 2019-2050 : Concours de bande dessinée sur la ville du futur

À quoi ressemblerait la ville de Manille à l'avenir ? Certains imaginent la ville tentaculaire et ses gratte-ciel à moitié submergés par les eaux, en raison des inondations. D'autres imaginent Manille comme une ville propre et durable qui a su conserver son patrimoine et préserver sa culture unique. Quelques autres pensent que le destin de Manille est sombre. La ville en 2050 serait confrontée aux mêmes problèmes qu'en 2019. La plupart d'entre eux étaient liés aux transports dans le pays 6).

Ces idées ne sont que quelques-unes de ce que plusieurs créateurs de bandes dessinées et artistes philippins ont présenté mardi soir, lors du concours Manille 2019-2050 : City of the Future Comics Contest à la CSB School of Design and Arts.

Benoît Peeters s'est rendu à l'école de design et d'arts du De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde pour récompenser les gagnants du concours Manille 2019-2050 : City of the Future Comics Contest.

Benoît Peeters, auteur de la série de bandes dessinées primée “Les Cités Obscures” avec le dessinateur François Schuiten, explique la relation entre la bande dessinée et les villes 7).

Isabella Hilario de De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde remporte la catégorie étudiante du concours de bande dessinée Manille 2019-2050 : City of the Future Comics Contest pour son œuvre intitulée “For the Future”.

Rod Espinosa a remporté le grand prix pour sa vision magistrale et significative de Manille 2019-2050 intitulée “Broken But Still Beautiful”.

M. Espinosa fera un voyage tous frais payés en France pour assister au prestigieux Festival international de la bande dessinée d'Angoulême.

Dans une interview accordée à GMA News Online, M. Espinosa a expliqué qu'il s'était inspiré de l'élévation du niveau de la mer qui affecterait la ville dans les années à venir.

Et après avoir regardé des films comme Water World… j'ai pensé qu'il serait intéressant de voir Manille sous l'eau, mais …. la nature est revenue… comme vous pouvez le voir, la ville est maintenant durable [avec] l'agriculture verticale dans tous les bâtiments. C'est l'inspiration,”, a déclaré le vétéran de la bande dessinée 8).

C'était un grand plaisir de découvrir la ville à travers les yeux des artistes. La bande dessinée et la ville vont vraiment ensemble. Je pense que les bandes dessinées sont très appropriées à cette façon de raconter une histoire [de] comment les gens se sentent,” a déclaré Peeters 9).

Selon lui, le choix des gagnants a été difficile car il s'agissait d'œuvres de grande qualité, avec des perspectives uniques et un élément personnel 10).

Tous les artistes professionnels participant au concours Manille 2019-2050 : City of the Future Comics Contest avec Benoit Peeters, l'attaché culturel de l'ambassade de France Martin Macalintal, et le co-fondateur de The Filipino Komiks & Art Market Paolo Herras.

Photos et vidéo par l'Ambassade de France aux Philippines et en Micronésie 11) 12) 13) 14) 15), Patma I 16) et Angelica Y. Yang 17) 18) 19) 20) .