Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

the impossible & infinite encyclopedia of the world created by Schuiten & Peeters

User Tools

Site Tools


Main menu

Main menu

Browse dictionary

Browse in logical order:
Persons | Cities | Albums | More topics

Browse in chronological order:
Timeline | Obscure Timeline | New pages

Browse in alphabetical order:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ


Altaplana.be the offical site about François Schuiten and Benoît Peeters

Visit also

Visit Catalogue

Visit Office of Passages

Visit Atlantic 12

Le Dernier Pharaon at Maison Autrique

An exhibition about Le Dernier Pharaon will be held in Maison Autrique. This exhibition is held from May 29th, 2019 until the 19th January 2020.

Opening

The exhibition was opened on May 28, 2019. Maison Autrique 1) and Théo Strato 2) published the following pictures of the opening .

Exhibition

The Brussels-born comic-book author Edgar P. Jacobs published his first ‘Blake and Mortimer’ adventure in 1946, in the Tintin magazine. This was to be followed, in 1950, by ‘The Mystery of the Great Pyramid’. The publishing houses Blake et Mortimer and Dargaud Benelux, who now own the rights to the renowned British heroes, had long envisaged producing a one-off album, separate from the traditional series and emanating from the personal vision of a writer who was themselves an admirer of Jacobs. Their choice fell naturally on another native of Brussels: François Schuiten.

It was Schuiten, along with Benoît Peeters, who spearheaded the revival of the Autrique House and it seemed to us only right that the original artwork for The Last Pharaoh should find a welcome there. François Schuiten did not tackle the task alone. He enlisted film-maker Jaco Van Dormael and novelist Thomas Gunzig to flesh out the storyboard for this unique Blake and Mortimer adventure and give it its final polish. Laurent Durieux made a gorgeous work as colorist.

The Last Pharaoh is neither a homage nor a nostalgic return to the past. Played out between the Giza Plateau and the hills of Brussels, it offers a new slant on the myth created by Edgar P. Jacobs.

The Brussels Courthouse Protagonist and backdrop

‘As you know, the Courthouse building fascinates me. But there is also a link with Jacobs: notes have been found indicating that he was planning a story that would take place in this location.’ This comes as no surprise when you are aware that Jacobs spent his childhood in the Rue Ernest Allard, under the shadow of the Law Courts. ‘When you read this story, you will know why the building still has scaffolding round it!’

The building’s architect, Joseph Poelaert, wanted to top it with a pyramid rather than the dome now in place – a thwarted aspiration made good in The Last Pharaoh. Remember, too, that the ‘Obscure Cities’ series created by Schuiten and Peeters gives star billing to the ‘pharaonic edifice’.

In the second half of the 19th century, the Belgian authorities embarked on a huge programme of urban redevelopment in Brussels. It was decided that the creation of a promenade running towards the Bois de la Cambre – in other words, the opening-up of what would become the Avenue Louise – should be combined with the construction of a new courthouse. Located 650 metres from the Place Royale, at the end of the Rue de la Régence, the court-building occupied the perfect site: it was erected on the Galgenberg – the old ‘Gallows Hill’ overlooking the city – where justice was already being dispensed in the Middle Ages.

An architectural design competition was launched. Poelaert was on the judges’ panel and managed to persuade the other members that none of the designs tendered would be magnificent enough to constitute the kind of ‘monument’ that Justice deserved – none of them, that is, except his own, even though it was not included in the tenders. The project was approved. The next stage saw compulsory purchases on a massive scale, interminable discussions about the budget, and endless adjustments to the implementation plans. In 1866, the first stone in the ‘monument’ was laid, marking the start of building works that would continue for seventeen years. In 1883, when Poelaert was no longer of this world, King Leopold II officially opened the colossal structure, to jeers from the city centre’s working population. The arguments had begun – and are still far from resolved, even today.

The Palais de Justice can be viewed as the crowning achievement of the eclectic art of the 19th century. At the time it was built, it was one of the largest buildings in the world – so vast that it could contain the whole of St Peter’s in Rome.

The ScanPyramids project

The Last Pharaoh is set in Brussels, but a mysterious kind of communication goes on between the city and the Egyptian pyramids. The pyramids! Another of François Schuiten’s passions and one that he was able to indulge during a scientific expedition documented in late 2016 in an exhibition at the Museum of Fine Arts in Lille.

Because so much has been said and written on this subject, as soon as you broach it, you risk descending into cliché. Comic-book artists have seized on the pyramids as a backdrop against which to develop their heroes’ characters – witness Hergé’s Cigars of the Pharaoh and Edgar P Jacobs’ Mystery of the Great Pyramid. The early explorers and Egyptologists were accompanied by great artists and illustrators. From now on, one of the names featuring on the roll-call that leads directly back to these artistic adventurers will be that of François Schuiten.

Schuiten – scenographer, artist, and comic-book illustrator – has clearly spent many hours studying the pyramids, observing their shape, volume, structure, and surroundings in an attempt to understand them better and be better able to reconstruct them. His meticulous pencil drawings and gentle watercolours betray the same patient concern to make sense

of the stones, analyse the way they are put together, and capture their changing colours from dawn to dusk. As a matter of fact, his skills of observation proved such that he turned up a hitherto unnoticed anomaly in construction.

Victor Horta and Egypt

When you hear François Schuiten speak, it is clear how spellbound he remains by his encounter with the pyramids, echoing the experience of the artists who first accompanied Egyptologists into the field. Victor Horta, the architect of the Autrique House, also undertook an ‘Egyptian tour’ – a very modest one, organized by the Thomas Cook travel agency. We know this from the documents on display here, discovered by Professor Dirk Van de Vijver in the course of his research.

Victor Horta and Eugène Autrique were members of Les Amis Philanthropes, a masonic lodge under the obedience of the Grand Orient of Belgium. Egyptian and Pharaonic style figure prominently in the decoration of masonic temples in Brussels, now classed as listed buildings and in some cases accessible to non-masonic visitors. The façade of the Autrique House is itself decorated with Egyptian motifs.

The notes made by Victor Horta about his trip flag up the crucial importance of having a camera to hand. Thanks to the existence of several hundred photographs preserved in the Horta Museum (on deposit from the Jean and Renée Delhaye Foundation), we have a record of his journey and are able to reconstruct it pictorially. Some of the photographs are displayed here.

A one-week trip on the Nile introduced the architect-cum-photographer to the key sites of Egyptian antiquity, the island of Philae being the southernmost destination. Other way-stations included: the emblematic pyramids of Giza and the Colossi of Memnon, the underground tombs of Beni Hassan and the mortuary complex of Queen Hatshepsut at Deir El Bahri, the Ramesseum, the Medinet Habu complex, the Kom Ombo temple at Rom Ombos, the Temple of Khnum at Esna, the temple of Horus at Edfu and the temple complexes at Abydos, Dendera, Karnak, Thebes and Luxor.

Another product of the trip was a collection of rather unsettling romanticized images of 20th-century Western tourists posing amidst the ruins of a millennial civilization. The fact that the Autrique House, designed by Victor Horta, should be the setting for a display of the colour plates and drawings created by François Schuiten for The Last Pharaoh is clearly no coincidence.

Events

Several events are organised around the exhibition.

  • September 12, 2019: Etienne Schréder, comic book author: « Edgar P. Jacobs, dessinateur »
  • October 3, 2019: Daniel Couvreur, Journalist: « L’affaire Jacobs »
  • October 17, 2019: François Schuiten, Jaco van Dormael and Thomas Gunzig, scenario writers: « Ecrire à 6 mains le scénario du Dernier Pharaon »
  • November 7, 2019: Laurent Durieux, designer and colourist: « Mettre en couleurs la bande dessinée »
  • November 21, 2019: Mehdi Tayoubi, coordinator of the Scan Pyramids mission: « Du réel au virtuel, faire revivre les pyramides d’Egypte »
  • December 5, 2019: Francis Metzger, architect: « L’aventure de la restauration du Palais de Justice de Bruxelles »
  • January 16, 2020: Dirk van de Vijfer, engineer and architect, professor at the university of Utrecht : « Horta en Egypte »
This website uses cookies for visitor traffic analysis. By using the website, you agree with storing the cookies on your computer. More information

Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

Encyclopédie impossible et infinie du monde créé par Schuiten & Peeters

Outils pour utilisateurs

Outils du site


Menu principal

Menu principal

Parcourir le dictionnaire

Parcourir par ordre logique:
Personnes | Cités | Albums | D'autres sujets

Parcourir par ordre chronologique :
Chronologie | Chronologie Obscure | Nouvelles pages

Parcourir par ordre alphabétique:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | XYZ

François Schuiten et Benoît Peeters

Visitez aussi

Visitez Catalogue

Visitez Office des Passages

Visitez Atlantic 12

Visit Fonds Schuiten

Le Dernier Pharaon à la Maison Autrique

Une exposition sur Le Dernier Pharaon se tiendra à la Maison Autrique. Cette exposition se tiendra du 29 mai 2019 jusqu'au 19 janvier 2020.

Ouverture

L'exposition a été inaugurée le 28 mai 2019. Maison Autrique 1) et Théo Strato 2) ont publié les photos suivantes du vernissage .

Exposition

L'auteur de bande dessinée bruxellois Edgar P. Jacobs a publié sa première aventure “Blake et Mortimer” en 1946, dans le magazine Tintin. Elle sera suivie, en 1950, par “Le Mystère de la Grande Pyramide”. Les maisons d'édition Blake et Mortimer et Dargaud Benelux, qui détiennent aujourd'hui les droits des célèbres héros britanniques, envisageaient depuis longtemps de produire un album unique, distinct de la série traditionnelle et issu de la vision personnelle d'un auteur lui-même admirateur de Jacobs. Leur choix s'est naturellement porté sur un autre Bruxellois : François Schuiten.

C'est lui qui, avec Benoît Peeters, a fait renaître la Maison de l'Autrique et il nous a semblé normal que la maquette originale du Dernier Pharaon y trouve sa place. François Schuiten ne s'est pas attelé seul à la tâche. Il a fait appel au cinéaste Jaco Van Dormael et au romancier Thomas Gunzig pour étoffer et peaufiner le story-board de cette aventure unique de Blake et Mortimer. Laurent Durieux a fait un travail magnifique en tant que coloriste.

Le Dernier Pharaon n'est ni un hommage ni un retour nostalgique au passé. Se déroulant entre le plateau de Gizeh et les collines de Bruxelles, il offre un nouveau regard sur le mythe créé par Edgar P. Jacobs.

Le Palais de Justice de Bruxelles Protagoniste et décor

Comme vous le savez, le Palais de Justice me fascine. Mais il y a aussi un lien avec Jacobs : on a retrouvé des notes indiquant qu'il envisageait une histoire qui se déroulerait à cet endroit“. Cela n'est pas surprenant quand on sait que Jacobs a passé son enfance dans la rue Ernest Allard, à l'ombre du Palais de Justice. Quand vous lirez cette histoire, vous saurez pourquoi le bâtiment est toujours entouré d'échafaudages !

L'architecte du bâtiment, Joseph Poelaert, voulait le couronner d'une pyramide plutôt que de la Cette aspiration contrariée est concrétisée dans Le dernier pharaon. N'oubliez pas non plus que la série des “Cités obscures” créée par Schuiten et Peeters fait la part belle à l'“édifice pharaonique”.

Dans la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle, les autorités belges se lancent dans un vaste programme de réaménagement urbain à Bruxelles. Il est décidé de créer une promenade en direction du Bois de la Cambre. la Cambre, c'est-à-dire l'ouverture de ce qui deviendra l'avenue Louise, doit être associée à la construction d'un nouveau palais de justice. Situé à 650 mètres de la place Royale, au bout de la rue de la Régence, le palais de justice occupe un emplacement idéal : il est érigé sur le Galgenberg - l'ancienne “colline des potences” qui domine la ville - où la justice était déjà rendue au Moyen Âge.

Un concours d'architecture a été lancé. Poelaert fait partie du jury et réussit à convaincre les autres membres qu'aucun des projets proposés ne serait assez magnifique pour constituer le type de “monument” que la Justice méritait - aucun d'entre eux, sauf le sien, même s'il ne figurait pas dans les offres. Le projet est approuvé. L'étape suivante est marquée par des achats obligatoires à grande échelle, des discussions interminables sur le budget et des ajustements sans fin des plans d'exécution. En 1866, la première pierre du “monument” est posée, marquant le début de travaux qui se poursuivront pendant dix-sept ans. En 1883, alors que Poelaert n'est plus de ce monde, le roi Léopold II inaugure officiellement la structure colossale, sous les huées de la population active du centre-ville. Les querelles avaient commencé - et sont encore loin d'être résolues, même aujourd'hui.

Le Palais de justice peut être considéré comme le couronnement de l'art éclectique du XIXe siècle. À l'époque de sa construction, il s'agissait de l'un des plus grands bâtiments du monde, si vaste qu'il pouvait contenir l'ensemble de la basilique Saint-Pierre de Rome.

Le projet ScanPyramids

Le dernier pharaon se déroule à Bruxelles, mais une communication mystérieuse s'établit entre la ville et les pyramides égyptiennes. Les pyramides ! Une autre des passions de François Schuiten, qu'il a pu assouvir lors d'une expédition scientifique documentée fin 2016 dans une exposition au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Lille.

Parce que tant de choses ont été dites et écrites sur ce sujet, dès qu'on l'aborde, on risque de sombrer dans le cliché. Les dessinateurs de bandes dessinées se sont emparés des pyramides comme toile de fond pour développer les personnages de leurs héros, comme en témoignent les Cigares du Pharaon d'Hergé et le Mystère de la Grande Pyramide d'Edgar P Jacobs. Les premiers explorateurs et égyptologues étaient accompagnés de grands artistes et illustrateurs. Désormais, l'un des noms figurant à l'appel qui renvoie directement à ces aventuriers artistiques sera celui de François Schuiten.

Schuiten - scénographe, artiste et illustrateur de bande dessinée - a manifestement passé de nombreuses heures à étudier les pyramides, à observer leur forme, leur volume, leur structure et leur environnement pour tenter de mieux les comprendre et de mieux les reconstituer. Ses minutieux dessins au crayon et ses douces aquarelles trahissent le même souci patient de donner un sens à ces pyramides.

des pierres, d'analyser la façon dont elles sont assemblées et de saisir leurs couleurs changeantes de l'aube au crépuscule. Son sens de l'observation s'est d'ailleurs révélé tel qu'il a mis au jour une anomalie de construction jusque-là inaperçue.

Victor Horta et l'Egypte

Lorsque l'on écoute François Schuiten, on comprend qu'il reste sous le charme de sa rencontre avec les pyramides, faisant écho à l'expérience des artistes qui ont accompagné les premiers égyptologues sur le terrain. Victor Horta, l'architecte de la Maison de l'Autrique, a lui aussi effectué un “tour d'Egypte”, très modeste, organisé par l'agence de voyage Thomas Cook. Nous le savons grâce aux documents exposés ici, découverts par le professeur Dirk Van de Vijver au cours de ses recherches.

Victor Horta et Eugène Autrique étaient membres des Amis Philanthropes, une loge maçonnique sous l'obédience du Grand Orient de Belgique. Les styles égyptien et pharaonique figurent en bonne place dans la décoration des temples maçonniques de Bruxelles, aujourd'hui classés monuments historiques et, dans certains cas, accessibles aux visiteurs non maçonniques. La façade de la Maison Autrique est elle-même décorée de motifs égyptiens.

Les notes prises par Victor Horta sur son voyage soulignent l'importance cruciale d'avoir un appareil photo à portée de main. Grâce à l'existence de plusieurs centaines de photographies conservées au Musée Horta (dépôt de la Fondation Jean et Renée Delhaye), nous disposons d'une trace de son voyage et pouvons le reconstituer en images. Certaines de ces photographies sont exposées ici.

Un voyage d'une semaine sur le Nil a permis à l'architecte-photographe de découvrir les sites clés de l'antiquité égyptienne, l'île de Philae étant la destination la plus au sud. Parmi les autres étapes, citons les pyramides emblématiques de Gizeh et les colosses de Memnon, les tombes souterraines de Beni Hassan et le complexe mortuaire de la reine Hatchepsout à Deir El Bahri, le Ramesseum, le complexe de Medinet Habu, le temple de Kom Ombo à Rom Ombos, le temple de Khnoum à Esna, le temple d'Horus à Edfou et les complexes de temples à Abydos, Dendera, Karnak, Thèbes et Louxor.

Le voyage a également donné lieu à une collection d'images romancées plutôt troublantes de touristes occidentaux du XXe siècle posant au milieu des ruines d'une civilisation millénaire. Le fait que la Maison Autrique, conçue par Victor Horta, soit le cadre d'une exposition des planches et dessins en couleurs réalisés par François Schuiten pour Le dernier pharaon n'est évidemment pas un hasard.

Événements

Plusieurs événements sont organisés autour de l'exposition.

  • 12 septembre 2019 : Etienne Schréder, auteur de bandes dessinées : ” Edgar P. Jacobs, dessinateur “.
  • 3 octobre 2019 : Daniel Couvreur, Journaliste : ” L'affaire Jacobs “
  • 17 octobre 2019 : François Schuiten, Jaco van Dormael et Thomas Gunzig, scénaristes : ” Ecrire à 6 mains le scénario du Dernier Pharaon “
  • 7 novembre 2019 : Laurent Durieux, concepteur et coloriste : ” Mettre en couleurs la bande dessinée “
  • 21 novembre 2019 : Mehdi Tayoubi, coordinateur de la mission Scan Pyramids : ” Du réel au virtuel, faire revivre les pyramides d'Égypte “.
  • 5 décembre 2019 : Francis Metzger, architecte : ” L'aventure de la restauration du Palais de Justice de Bruxelles “.
  • 16 janvier 2020 : Dirk van de Vijfer, ingénieur et architecte, professeur à l'université d'Utrecht : ” Horta en Egypte “.