Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

the impossible & infinite encyclopedia of the world created by Schuiten & Peeters

User Tools

Site Tools


Jim (book)

Jim is the title of a book with drawings by François Schuiten. Schuiten made these drawings after his dog Jim passed away early 2023. This book will be published in August 2023 by Rue de Sevres.

Since 2021, the Prix Victor Rossel has crowned the best talents in both literature and comics. “Jim” was nominated for this award 1).

Story

“It was time for my walk and I couldn't see him. He must have been waiting for me somewhere…”. In drawing Jim, his recently deceased dog, François Schuiten has once again found in the art of the comic strip a way of filling the emptiness inside him and honouring what is dear to him.

François Schuiten: “I'm a bit of a laborious drawer. I need to reassure myself, and my drawings are the fruit of a rather long process. But for Jim, it was the opposite: I needed it to come out, I needed to capture this elusive emotion. I didn't really look for it: it just fell into my lap. It's the way I found to go through the disappearance of my dog. The pleasure of rediscovering him through drawing lightened my pain, and it was a form of therapy, helping me to understand what linked me to my dog and to recapture all the emotions that lay beneath the surface.” 2)


By compiling these illustrations in a carefully produced book, François Schuiten underlines, with the majesty that characterises all his work, the powerful and invisible links that are forged between people and their pets, and brings a little warmth to those who know or dread the inevitable end of an extraordinary relationship.

Editions / translations

YearTitleLanguagePublisherPagesHC/SCISBNRemarks
2023JimFrenchRue de Sevres128HC9782810206742
2024JimSpanishLibros del Zorro Rojo128HC9788412782011
2024JimGermanSchreiber & Leser128HC9783965821705

Example pages

A few pages can be found in this preview document. More drawings by François Schuiten of Jim can be found at the page about Jim.

Dedication

François Schuiten making a drawing of Jim in the book.


See also

Altaplana, world of Francois Schuiten and Benoit Peeters

Encyclopédie impossible et infinie du monde créé par Schuiten & Peeters

Outils pour utilisateurs

Outils du site


Jim (livre)

Jim est le titre d'un livre avec des dessins de François Schuiten. Schuiten a réalisé ces dessins après le décès de son chien Jim est décédé début 2023. Ce livre sera publié en août 2023 aux éditions Rue de Sèvres.

Depuis 2021, le Prix Victor Rossel couronne les meilleurs talents de la littérature et de la bande dessinée. “Jim” a été nommé pour ce prix 1).

Histoire

“C'était l'heure de ma promenade et je ne le voyais pas. Il devait bien m'attendre quelque part…”. En dessinant Jim, son chien récemment décédé, François Schuiten a une fois de plus trouvé dans l'art de la bande dessinée un moyen de combler le vide qui l'habite et d'honorer ce qui lui est cher.

François Schuiten : “Je suis un dessinateur un peu laborieux. J'ai besoin de me rassurer et mes dessins sont le fruit d'un processus assez long. Mais pour Jim, c'était l'inverse : J'avais besoin que ça sorte, j'avais besoin de capturer cette émotion insaisissable. Je ne l'ai pas vraiment cherchée : elle m'est tombée dessus. C'est la manière que j'ai trouvée pour traverser la disparition de mon chien. Le plaisir de le retrouver par le dessin a allégé ma peine, et c'était une forme de thérapie, m'aidant à comprendre ce qui me liait à mon chien et à retrouver toutes les émotions qui se cachaient sous la surface”. 2)


En rassemblant ces illustrations dans un livre à la réalisation soignée, François Schuiten souligne, avec la majesté qui caractérise toute son œuvre, les liens puissants et invisibles qui se tissent entre les hommes et leurs animaux, et apporte un peu de chaleur à ceux qui connaissent ou redoutent la fin inéluctable d'une relation hors du commun.

Editions / traductions

AnnéeTitreLangueÉditeurPagesHC/SCISBNRemarques
2023 JimFrançaisRue de Sevres128HC9782810206742
2024 JimEspagnolLibros del Zorro Rojo128HC9788412782011
2024 JimAllemandSchreiber & Leser128HC9783965821705

Exemples de pages

Quelques pages peuvent être trouvées dans ce document de prévisualisation. D'autres dessins de Jim par François Schuiten peuvent être trouvés à la page sur Jim.

Dédicace

François Schuiten réalisant un dessin de Jim dans le livre.


Voir aussi